Blaq Piq

Finally joined the ranks of the Pandan pancakes instagrammers from Blaq Piq.

Almond flat white-  a nutty taste (obviously the almond milk) but the coffee itself was more of a pursing sweetness with a hint of sourness.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Pandan Pancakes with coconut ice cream

I was a little underwhelmed by the brilliance of these pancakes, oh sometimes the hype just ruins it!!
My pancakes had a heavy burnt taste and the lack of pandan flavour was disappointing. The consistency of the pancakes was also questionable.
I had few bites of fluffy brilliance and sometimes dull, flat batter.

The coconut ice cream and maple syrup were on point though.

Well constructed flavours and textural contrasts of soft, chewy and crunchy fruits (and those caramelised pecans!) were fantastic.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the decor in this place. Wide, open courtyard with a combination of natural and artificial light (where can I get those hanging lamps???) , whereas the atmosphere is calm and soothing. It’s a great place to be for some solitude.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

i couldn’t help but giggle over the pig butt. I’m such a child.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Twice cooked pork belly with pickled vegetables, pumpkin puree, 63 degree egg

There wasn’t much pumpkin puree on it though. I loved the pickled carrots. Its the fine balance between sour and sweet with the rustic, meaty juices of the pork belly that I find so endearing. It was quite a light dish but what surprised me was how hungry I felt 2 hours after eating this meal! That usually never happens.
Not sure if its good or bad- portion control?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

EIther way, I did return with my dear friends, and we essentially ordered the whole menu – those oreo milkshakes though. Get your hands on that.
Blaq Piq Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

