Tea Festival : Carriageworks

This dreary, wet, 17th August had certainly dampened my mood until I remembered…
IT WAS THE TEA FESTIVAL.

My love of tea had been sparked by sitting at the Tea Room in the QVB sipping cups of tea and marvelling at how floral and fruity flavours was blended into such an addictive drink. 

Since then, tea has been my love. Oh, and cake. 

140141

Although outdoors (with cover), the smell of chai wafting through the air dragged people in left, right and centre, into the cosiness of sampling tea, eating scones and desserts.

There are a couple of bakeries and tea companies that I found were my favourite and who knows, if you like what I like, check them out! 

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with lv03 preset

The Vegan Teahouse

I am so upset that I couldn’t get my hands on Alice: The butter-nut spread. (maybe I’m biased because its named after me but NO! The nut butter was drippy and sweet and sold out super fast. 
They also name their products after girls (which I found rather awesome) and I quote “because girl’s are cool.”

Yes. Yes we are. 

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Frozen Dough Co (You can find them on instagram : @frozendoughco)

As the name says, you could get bags of frozen cookie dough, take them home and bake them fresh.
Their flavour combinations of peanut butter, chocolate and salted pretzel, salted oatmeal and white chocolate etc. are my absolute favourite! There is something about sweet and salty that gets my palate going insane. 

101

Amrita: Caffeine Free chai spices.
If you’re afraid of having tea before going to bed, this will do the trick! 

103

 The Berry Teahouse ( Facebook: theberryteashop  Instagram: theberryteashop  Twitter:@TheBerryTeaShop)

This gorgeous set-up had me running to see what they had to offer. Loose leaf tea blended in Berry (NSW) are 100% natural and as you see also sell teapots to cups, cards and cozies. 

105 104

Makmak Macarons

These are one of the few places that I regularly visit for their macarons. I believe that macarons should be crispy on the outside and have a chewy, biscuity texture on the inside. Makmak certainly deliver. They offer seasonal flavours (at the moment, its Gaby, toffee apple, LAMINGTON (only at the International Airport, so if you’re flying outside of Australia, go get one) Lemon Sherbert, Gingerly, Peppermint Tea….and the list goes on. They also have their classics which are darn amazing too. Check them out in Newtown. Worth the trip I tell you! 

107 108 106

Perfect South

Perfect South is my go-to place for green tea. They have an array of classics such has genmaicha, sencha, kukich and they have a new range! (see above) I wasn’t a huge fan but their classics are the best green tea I have ever had. So give them a go! 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset 109

Madame Flavour

They have only 3 flavours selling but they are one of the best tea bag tea ever!
I had run out of Perfect South Green Tea (Drastic time, I know) and found the Jasmine, Pear Green Tea of Madam Flavour at the local supermarket. Sweet and refreshing, this is a must try if you like fruity flavoured tea!110

Blossom Blends: http://www.BlossomBlends.com.au

116 113

Rabbit Hole Tea

I may have an obsession with Alice in Wonderland references. 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Rabbit hole Tea sold only one sized tins for $15. There were so many people around this stand I could barely get through and I couldn’t get a taste. (Woes of being short.)

The Tea Cosy: theteacosy.com.au

The tea cosy are situated in the Rocks at Sydney. They are also at the Rocks Markets, so find them there!
Baked fresh, their scones are fluffy and buttery. Paired with their own jam, I don’t think I could have been anymore happier. Maybe I should buy their jam next time. 117 118 119

Mmm…I love regular scones with just jam and cream. Simple is best sometimes. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

T-Totaler 

120 121

Chamellia: Chamellia.com.au 

The JAM BANDITS. 

131

132 133

Cookie + Milk: I could not believe my eyes when they drifted over to this table full of baked goodies in jars, trays, bags with colourful signs screaming ‘EAT ME.” 

I couldn’t find a better place to indulge myself in these goodies as well as having gallons of tea. 

134

These were perfect for today!

135 136

Kettle Town : Instagram @kettletowntea Website: http://www.kettletown.com/
Kettle Town Tea launched their new Ginger Safari and let me tell you, that has inspired some recipes that will be coming up on the blog soon!

They were also selling Almond Hot Chocolate which sadly, I could not get my hands on. 😦 Devastated. 

137 142 123

Mr. Earl: A subscription of tea! I think that is the best creation ever. http://mrearltea.com.au/

You receive 3 samples of tea from either NZ or Australia (Mr. Earl is based in Melbourne) and can subscribe for a month, 3 or 6! 

I think when I run out of tea again, I might just have to hop on to try some more! 

124 125 126

Renee Danielle Jeffery Ceramics
Contact her on reneedaniellejeffery@gmail.com or go to The Channon Market 2nd Sunday, Bangalow Market 4th Sunday to find her!

These are some of the cutest tea pots I have ever seen. 

127 128 129 

My experience at the Tea Festival was phenomenal. Going here has really opened my eyes on how much tea there can be and how I am going to get my hands on every single one. 
Dream on Alice. 

Happy drinking everybody! Tea or not. 

Looking forward to posting some more recipes.

Coming soon so stay tuned! xx

Leave a Reply

