Sepia Restaurant

Being only 20, I am so blessed to have experienced a few fine dining restaurants. I am so lucky to have people in my life who also enjoy food as much as I do.

I was extremely surprised to see how much Sepia was influenced by Japanese food. It isn’t a fusion, it’s just inspired.

Image

Sencha Tea

I really liked the tea-pot.

Image

Amuse Bouche: I can never seem to hear what the Amuse Bouche is. But let me tell you, whatever that was…with horseradish cream..You are the best amuse bouche I have ever had in my life. The crunch of the cone, the hint of spiciness from the horseradish cream blended itself together so very. very well. I could have many more of those cones. 
Image
Sashimi of Yellow Fin Tuna, Jamon Iberico cream, Hatsuka radish, apple and wasabi, pork crackling. 
Paired with the Jamon Iberico (which I believe is bloody expensive), the fresh sashimi melts in  your mouth, leaving you wanting more and more after each bite. The pork crackling provided a textural relief from the softness of the sashimi leaving the radish, apple and wasabi to cut through the sweet flavour of the sashimi. 
Image
House made chevre, rhubarb, beetroot, rye, native violets
Sure this looks like dirt (as someone commented on the table) if it was, well I’d gladly eat it anyway. This dish had quite a powdery texture, but inside hid pieces of sweet and fresh beetroot, which balanced out the dry effect the ‘dirt’ had on the tongue. 
Image
Sashimi of bonito, flavours of roasted chicken, umeboshi, upload cress, green tea, nori 
Although this was my least favourite dish of the night due to the overall combination of flavour, there were sparks of interesting, individual flavours that really stood out.
The most amazing thing on this dish was the green tea powder. It added a saltier dimension to the flavour of the dish and brought out the flavour of everything else on the plate.
Image
Scampi cooked over charcoal, sudachi, mitsuba, fried battera kombu  
The Scampi was imported from New Zealand, and it was cooked to perfection. PERFECTION. It was just simply, GORGEOUSSSSSS. 
Image
Seared rolled David Blackmore wagyu beef, chestnut mushroom, roasted red onion juice, oba leaf, fried potato, and kombu crumb, citrus soy. 
They also served Japanese milk bread with butter and truffle salt. Needed more salt and the waiter provided after hearing us saying we wanted more. Brownie points for service! If you like sweet bread then this is the bread for you! However, if you’re like me, and prefer savoury bread, then load up on the salt and butter! 
 
Needless to say, there were only ooh’s, mmm’s and ahh’s around the table. 
Image
Seared Mandagery Creek venison, sansho pepper, caramelised Jerusalem artichoke, pumpkin and raspberry leaf. 
The flavours were a bit of shock to me. It just didn’t work. But when I kept eating it, I grew to love it. Flavours that were once alien to me are now forever in my belly. 
(sorry about the shocking photo, everyone started eating and I rushed 😦 ) rookie mistake. 
Pre-dessert: something about fennel cream
Image
Autumn chocolate forest: soft chocolate, hazelnut and almond praline, lavender and honey cream, blackberry sorbet , caramel and shiso vinegar jellies, green tea, licorice, chocolate twigs, crystallised fennel fronds. 
I must go back for this dish. I will eat it over and over again and not get sick of it.
With many of these dishes, the flavours were a complete shock, but once you kept eating it, the more you grew to love it. Same with this dessert. Although sceptical about the flavours and texture, I eventually loaded onto my spoon, the most amazing chocolate (insert above description) dessert ever in my mouth. The cold and hot, the sweet and sour, the acidity just blended together to create a fantastic dish. 
Image
Japanese stones: Salted white chocolate passionfruit, chocolate, strawberry …covered by a shell of cocoa butter.
To be honest, I just ate these. They were so good. 
White Ambrosia Tea: I don’t have a photo of this but….pretty freaking amazing tea. They were also served in the cutest tea-pots. 
Wine: A lebanese red wine: Supple, not a strong tannin after-taste, quite light (loved it) 
Sorry for lack of description everybody… 
Fine dining. How I have missed you. 
Til next time! 
 
Leave a Reply

